Home Press Release The CSR Journal Announces ‘The CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017’

The CSR Journal Announces ‘The CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017’


The CSR Journal today announced ‘The CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017’, a platform showcasing and recognising the most impactful and scalable projects initiated by corporate houses and non-governmental organisations in India. The occasion will welcome over 300 leading personnel from corporate India, NGOs and individual social changemakers. The final round of the Excellence Awards 2017 will be judged live by a jury panel comprising of senior-level bureaucrats, internationally recognised social workers and leading public figures.

The event will be mentored by Shri Anna Hazare, Indian Social Activist. The Chief Guest for this ceremony is Shri Devendra Fadnavis, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Maharashtra and Shri Sudhir Mungantiwar, Minister of Finance and Forest Departments of Maharashtra is the Special Guest.

The final-round of the awards will be judged live by personalities including:

Name Designation
John Joseph Director General, GST Intelligence
Bhaskar Chatterjee Former Director General & CEO, IICA
Amruta Fadnavis Social Activist & Banker
Kumar Ketkar Veteran Journalist
M.N. Singh Former Police Commissioner, Mumbai
Anshu Gupta Founder, Goonj
Durga Sakthi Nagpal OSD to Ministry of Agriculture & Farmer’s Welfare, India
Nileema Mishra Ramon Magsaysay Award Winner
Sunitha Krishnan Padma Shri & Co-Founder of Prajwala
Srishti Jindal Chairman, News World India
Anil Kumar Principal Commissioner of Income Tax, Mumbai
Niranjan Joshi Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and Auditor of World Bank Assisted Programs
Indra Mallo Vice-Chairman & Managing Director of MAVIM, Mahila Arthik Vikas Mahamandal, a Government of Maharashtra undertaking
Parikipandla Narhari Revenue Secretary, Government of Madhya Pradesh

Over 200 nominations were received for the initial round in 7 categories. They are Education & Skill Training, Women Empowerment & Child Welfare, Agriculture & Rural Development, Health & Sanitation, Sports, Animal Welfare and Environment.

After the initial round of assessments, the top-3 in each category has been shortlisted and will be judged in the final round. They are:

Category Name of the Organisation
Environment DCB Bank
Canara HSBC Oriental Bank of Commerce Life Insurance Company Ltd.
KPIT Technologies Limited
Education & Skill Training TATA Capital Financial Services Limited
Capgemini Technology Services India Limited
Bharti Foundation
Agriculture & Rural Development Reliance Power Ltd.
Mahindra and Mahindra Limited – Automotive, Farm Equipment and Agriculture Sectors
Essar Foundation
Women Empowerment & Child Welfare Societe Generale
PVR Nest
Jubilant Life Sciences Pvt. Ltd.
Heath & Sanitation Magma Fincorp Ltd.
Development Consortium
Biocon Foundation
Sports Go Sports
EduSports and Ashok Leyland
Oscar Foundation
Animal Welfare Animal Rahat
PETA India
Wildlife Trust of India


The platform will also honour individuals that have achieved landmarks in various sectors and inspire many through their contributions. They are:

Name Award Title
Captain AD Manek Developing, Contributing & Empowering Positive Change in Aviation
Mr. B. Singh (Ex. IES) Contribution in Social Development & Promoting Education
Mr. Zahid Vijapura Ethical & Sustainable Value Developer/Development Practices
Mr. Sadique Yaqoob Babla Ethical Entrepreneurial & Social Accomplishments in Healthcare
Dr. Tushar Vinod Deoras Social Empowerment of Children Through Education & Counseling
Mr. Krishna Somayaji Innovative Entrepreneurship in Information Technology
Mr. Kaushik Palicha Ethical Entrepreneurship in Chemicals
Mr. Vinay Kumar Reddy Nuvvuru Empowering Social Change Through Education & Inspiring Contribution in Education
“Swasth Bharat Ratana” Prof. (Dr.) Saransh Jain Ethical Entrepreneurial & Social Accomplishments in Healthcare
Mr. Mehttab Siddiqui Outstanding Contribution in Social & Economic Development


Over the years, corporate houses along with non-profit organisations and individual social workers have taken several initiatives under the umbrella of Corporate Social Responsibility, thereby helping communities across the country transform, uplift and bridge the gap between the haves and have-nots; thus creating a suitable environment for inclusive growth and development. The theme for the day, ‘India First’ is intended to address the crucial and salient areas of our business, social and environmental setup.

To celebrate the theme of India First, Shiamak Davar’s Victory Arts Foundation, a dance group comprising of differently able children will perform at the event along with Alternative Lyrical Pop Band ‘saMcara’, who will be performing their exclusive song “Young India, Rich India”. In addition to these, other entertainment acts will also be a part of the main event.

This event is supported by Life Insurance Corporation of India. As television partners, The CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017 will be broadcasted by News World India and Mirror Now. While Red FM 93.5 is associated with the awards as the event’s official Radio Partner and Bloomberg Quint as Digital Partner. The Hindu and Free Press Journal are official Print Partners.

The event is managed exclusively by Sutraa and is marketed by BrandsImpact. Institute of Finance and International Management (IFIM) is the Knowledge Partner and Innovation Travels is the Travel Partner for awards this year.

On the occasion, The CSR Journal’s Editor-in-Chief, Amit Upadhyay said, “Over the past two years we have been able to establish ourselves as a leading News portal in the CSR domain. Our team today is pleased to announce Excellence Awards 2017, as it aims to address and put forward a platform which not only acknowledges the effort of corporate India but also encourages other stakeholders and individuals to participate in the process of Nation building.”

Thank you for reading the story until the very end. We appreciate the time you have given us. In addition, your thoughts and inputs will genuinely make a difference to us. Please do drop in a line and help us do better.

The CSR Journal Team