Home News Wire The CSR Journal columnist Dr. Moin Qazi appointed member of NITI Aayog...

The CSR Journal columnist Dr. Moin Qazi appointed member of NITI Aayog Committee


Dr. Moin QaziDr Moin Qazi, noted financial academician and our very own columnist at The CSR Journal, has been appointed a new member of National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog Committee on Financial Inclusion for Women.

NITI Aayog serves as the principal think-tank of Government of India for policy formulation. The NITI Aayog Committee on Financial Inclusion for Women has been mandated with the task of identifying the challenges as well as developing a measurable action plan to provide solutions for financial independence of women entrepreneurs in the country.

Nagpur-based Moin Qazi is the author of the bestselling book, Village Diary of a Heretic Banker. He has worked in the development finance sector for almost four decades. Besides regularly contributing for The CSR Journal website and magazine, he also writes for national and international dailies on various subjects.

Dr Moin Qazi is also a Visiting Faculty on Development Economics at Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS). He holds doctorates in Economics and English. He received an Honorary D Litt at the World Congress of Poets at Istanbul in 1991.

Modi government in 2014 replaced the Planning Commission of India with National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog. It is a policy think tank of the Government of India, established with the aim to achieve Sustainable Development Goals and to enhance cooperative federalism by fostering the involvement of State Governments of India in the economic policy-making process using a bottom-up approach.

The Prime Minister of India is the Ex-officio chairman of NITI Aayog. The permanent members of the NITI Aayog Governing Council are all the state Chief Ministers, along with the Chief Ministers of Delhi and Puducherry, the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar, and a Vice-Chairman nominated by the Prime Minister. In addition, temporary members are selected from leading universities and research institutions. These members include a chief executive officer, four ex-official members and two part-time members.